bandsoli.blogg.se

Christian death culrs
Christian death culrs






christian death culrs

different then than it is now in terms of getting involved in playing live music? I'm actually, what I consider, from "Abitsa" - a bits of this and a bits of that. I lived in Australia, England and in Europe in several different places. I lived with my dad and my grandmother and my aunts and stuff like that. No, I've got family in a lot of different places. from elsewhere, or did you grow up there? I started that band in L.A.ĭid you move to L.A. So I had to progress to other instruments as time went by just to create the sounds I wanted to hear, whether that be keyboards, or horns, or guitars, or anything I could put my hands on. I started out as a drummer, but I think the problem with drums is that you can bang and you can boom, but it's hard to create a tune. Was there a musician or type of music that inspired you to pick up a guitar? Valor Kand: I like pop culture, I guess, so it was quite a natural thing for me. Westword: What got you started playing rock music? We recently spoke with Kand about how the band's music isn't all dark, about how the group performs much of its classic music with the help of technology and about the act's plans to release a new album, titled The Root of All Evil, next year. These days, she and Kand perform as Christian Death with drummer Jason Frantz, who grew up in Boulder. Singer and bassist Maitri joined Kand's Christian Death in 1992 and added her own flair with versatile and powerful vocals. Rumors of a lawsuit between Williams and Christian Death for the rights of the name were dispelled in an interview with our sister paper, the Dallas Observer, when Kand revealed that he and Williams came to an agreement whereby each singer could continue with his own lineup of the band, and each co-existed until Williams's suicide in 1998. With Kand at the helm, Christian Death has continued to this day. In 1985, Williams left the band, but the remaining members decided to continue with lead-vocal duties being shared by Kand and his ex-Pompeii 99 bandmate Gitane Demone, who had joined Christian Death alongside him. The group's longest-running member, guitarist and vocalist Valor Kand, joined Christian Death after the split of his old band Pompeii 99 in 1983, and he added his gift for haunted yet sharp guitar work to the band's underrated second album, Catastrophe Ballet. See also: Tonight: Christian Death at the Oriental Theater, 10/1/13 Its unflinching expression of raw human emotion has always been imbued with an atmosphere and sensuality that elevated the music beyond that of its imitators. With its dark lyrics and themes, the group embodies the aesthetic and sound of gothic rock better than most other bands.

christian death culrs christian death culrs

A few years after being formed by Rozz Williams in 1979, Christian Death released Only Theater of Pain, an album that's considered to be a classic of both death rock and post-punk.








Christian death culrs